Blog

How Much Is The Penalty For Late Registration Of Vehicles In Illinois?


Every year, car owners in Illinois are required to go through the process of renewing their registration. Residents of Illinois have, for many decades, been able to expect to get renewal reminders in the mail a couple of months before their registration is set to expire.

Police vehicle

In 2016, the Illinois Secretary of State decided to terminate this program to cut the ever-increasing cost of operating the state government. As a direct result, the state brought in more than $5 million in revenue from overdue penalties during the first half of 2016.

How much is the penalty fee for late vehicle registration in Illinois?

If you do not successfully renew your license plate or suspended registration before the day it expires, you run the danger of being assessed a late fee of $20. Although a punishment of twenty dollars may not seem like a big deal to some people, it is not the only penalty for having expired tags. Because it is against the law to drive a vehicle with license plates that have expired, you face the risk of being pulled over every time you get behind the wheel of your car. Even if your vehicle is parked, you risk getting a ticket for having out-of-date license plates.

The police will likely issue a ticket many times more costly than the late charge if you are stopped. A judge may waive the charge in some situations if you appear in court with evidence that you’ve renewed your registration. However, a visit to the DMV and the courts will undoubtedly consume at least one day of your time. Depending on your work schedule, you may also lose one or more days of salary. As soon as your tags need to be renewed, make an appointment with the West Suburban Currency Exchange in your area to prevent the problems stated above. We’ll be able to get you a new sticker and have you back on the road in no time. If your vehicle’s license plates have not yet expired, there is nothing to worry about when renewing them. It would be great to renew your license plates before receiving a ticket. Perform it as quickly as possible. Stop by the WSCE location nearest to you to get a new sticker, transfer your Illinois car title, or use one of our many other services.

Registration papers

Registration has expired and cannot be renewed due to the pandemic.

With Secretary of State offices in Illinois closed due to the current coronavirus outbreak, motorists are unsure of what to do when their licenses and plates expire. Good news for people with expired licenses and car registrations. Secretary of State Jesse White has approved a 90-day extension for both of these documents, indicating that drivers will have 90 days to renew their licenses and plates whenever offices reopen.

In addition, motorists will have 90 days to perform driver’s exams or car emission tests. Residents are urged to visit cyberdriveillinois.com if they do not need to pass a test on renewing their car registrations. On this website, drivers must input their registration number and PIN, found on vehicle registration paperwork, and then pay the renewal charge using a major credit card. Stickers will be sent to drivers by mail within five to ten days.



Source link

Leave a comment